Paleo Banana Pumpkin Muffins

I make a dozen paleo Muffins every Sunday. They are still convenient. I put one in B’s school lunch almost everyday and the rest are eaten as after school or pre-workout snacks and can be added to any breakfast in a pinch. If it doesn’t look like we will eat them all within the week, I toss a few into the freezer to be used in case of a meal emergency, hectic work week or when I am feeling a little lazy.

This was my first attempt at making my own muffin recipe. Most of the paleo muffin recipes I have found are dense, eggy or too sweet.  I was pretty impressed with how these turned out. They are light, fluffy and not too sweet. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

Ingredients 

  • 1 over ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup Pumpkin purée (I used a boxed organic version)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of coconut flour
  • 1/4 arrowroot flour (you can sub in tapioca flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Instructions 

  1. If you remember, take your eggs out of the fridge about an hour before you make your muffins. This will prevent you coconut oil from solidifying when you mix it in to your batter. (I usually forget and It isn’t a big deal.)
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Mash banana. Mix in pumpkin, eggs, melted coconut oil, vanilla, spices and syrup.
  4. Add dry ingredients (baking soda and flours) and stir. Allow the mixture to sit for about 10 minutes because the coconut flour will soak up the liquid.
  5. Put muffin liners in a muffin pan. I use these silicone liners and they are fantastic.
  6. Using an ice cream scoop, put one scoop into each liner. You should have just enough for 12 muffins.
  7. Bake for 30-35 minutes.
Leave a Reply

