Purple Mashed Sweet Potatoes

My favorite grocery store posts their weekly ad at 6 am every Wednesday morning.  I check it every Wednesday morning… pretty compulsively.  I start planning my mid-week grocery run on Wednesday morning when this ad comes out.

Please, don’t be fooled. I am disorganized it almost every aspect of my life. However, I am almost always planning my next meal while consuming the last.

I get an odd little thrill when something extraordinary comes up on that weekly ad. I love the extra inspiration that an unusual item brings.

Yesterday it was purple sweet potatoes. How fun are they?

 The color is absolutely amazing. My daughter was in total awe when I chopped these up and she couldn’t wait to eat them.

Don’t have purple sweet potatoes?  No worries.  Just use orange sweet potatoes (yams).  The flavor is a little different, but every bit as good.  Also, like many of my recipes, this couldn’t be easier.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds sweet potato cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg

Instructions:

  1. Bring a medium size pot of water to a boil.
  2. Add your diced potatoes to the pot.  Bring the water back up to a boil and then reduce the heat to low.  Boil the potatoes for about 2o minutes, or until the potatoes can easily be pierced with a fork.
  3. Drain the potatoes and return them to the pan.  Add in coconut milk and spices.  Mash with a potato masher until smooth.
  4. Serve hot!

 

Leave a Reply

