Spaghetti Squash: Versatile and Kid Approved

On Saturday, I didn’t feel much like cooking. It was a long and exhausting week. The night before, my husband surprised me with an amazing Tomahawk Steak and asparagus for dinner. We had tons leftover, so I decided to reheat it for lunch on Saturday.  I wanted a few more carbs on my plate but also wanted to make something that B would enjoy.  And did I mention I didn’t feel like cooking.Spaghetti squash is often my solution.  My lazy prep method is to stab the heck out of it with a knife and throw it in the microwave for 10 minutes.  

This time, I added a bit of Kerrygold grassfed butter to B’s and served it with leftover steak and frozen veggies. (Her plate is on the right). You could easily sub olive or coconut oil if your kiddo doesn’t do well with butter. She said this meal was “awesome” and quickly finished off this whole plate.

For my spaghetti squash I like to spruce it up a little. Here are a few of my favorite ways to make an easy Spaghetti squash side dish:

  • Heat olive oil in a saucepan and throw in a minced garlic clove. Cook until fragrant then add spaghetti squash, salt and pepper. Stir to evenly mix.
  • Add capers or parsley or both.
  • Add cumin, coriander and cilantro.
  • Mix and match the suggestion above!

It’s simple and delicious. What are your favorite things to do with spaghetti squash?

Leave a Reply

