Crispy Chicken Skin Chips

I hate waste, especially when it comes to animal products.  I think it is one of the worst things that we can do to waste what these animals have provided for us.  I also hate wasting money.  Buying ethically raised animal products is obviously more expensive and we are not rich.

Purchasing and using the whole chicken insures that nothing is going  to waste.  As often as I can, I try to purchase whole chickens and cut them up to use them for whatever I need for the week.  I use the carcass for bone broth (recipe coming soon), but I never knew what to do with the skin.  This is a super easy way to make sure that those don’t go to waste and my daughter LOVES them.

Ingredients 

  • Leftover chicken skins
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 ° F.
  2. Cut skins into small strips no more than 2 inches long.  Place them on a baking sheet or pan.*
  3. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and cook for 20-30 minutes.
  4. Optional: Pat dry with towels to remove excess oil.

*Time saver: I usually use a large roasting pan to cook these skins because they tend to splash grease all over my oven when they are cooking and I don’t want that.  There is also a considerable amount of fat left in the roasting pan when you are done cooking.  Once I am done with the chips, I add in veggies and roast them in the same pan.  This also cuts down on dishes.

Leave a Reply

