Chorizo Frittata with Sweet Potato Crust

I think my daughter would love this recipe if she would put it in her mouth.  However, if she can see eggs in a meal, she won’t eat it.  I, on the other hand, LOVE eggs.  I would eat them every day.

This creates an obvious conflict and I am NOT going to make two different breakfasts every morning.  My solution has been to make myself a Frittata every week.   I typically make it on Saturday and plan to eat it Sunday-Wednesday.   That means I only have to deal with making myself breakfast Thursday-Saturday, and only two working days.  This frees me up to make something that B might prefer.

I don’t love a ton of veggies in my frittata but you could totally add spinach or whatever to make this more veggie heavy. I usually have this with a side of sauteed kale or red bell peppers, but that

Ingredients 

  • 1 very large sweet potato, shredded (I use a standing cheese grater)
  • 1/2 lb chorizo
  • 8 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2-3 green onions

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 ° F.
  2. Pour shredded sweet potato into a round baking dish or pie pan.  Press them down into the dish.  If they come up on the side, also press them into the sides of a dish.  I used a glass dish to help press them in.  I used a glass mason jar to help me form the crust.  Bake for 30 minutes.                 fullsizerender-4
  3. While the crust is cooking, brown the chorizo on the stove and chop your green onions.  Crack and stir your eggs as though you were making scrambled eggs.
  4. When the crust is done, reduce the temperature on your oven to 350°F.  Pour chorizo, and eggs into the crust.  Add green onions.  Place the frittata in the oven for 30 minutes and serve warm.

 

 

Total time: 1 hour 15 minutes                        Makes 4 Servings

One thought on “Chorizo Frittata with Sweet Potato Crust

Leave a Reply

